Random, I know but:

 

Here are some of my favorite things about my new job:

  • I have my own office. With a door. Pretty phenomenal. This means I can listen to music without headphones. It means that if I want to have a Panini for lunch, I can bring and plug in my sandwich maker. (OK well I’m not sure of the technicality of that, but still: no one can see it or smell it, so I’ve gotten by scott-free! And I really have done that, but only once…so far!)
  • You don’t have to bring your own mug or silverware. They have a community set of odds-and-ends utensils, plates, cups, mugs, you name it. You just grab what you need and when you’re done, put it in the dishwasher and someone else will clean it all up for you! It’s really such a smart idea because there’s no need for plastics, it gives you a place to dump old silverware or place settings you don’t need anymore, and it’s just downright easy!
  • Along with that, they also provide coffee and… hot chocolate! That gets major thumbs up in my book. Really. Truly.
  • OK, so on to the more “meaningful” stuff. It’s cool to be able to write stuff and include the word “God” or “Bible” or “Scripture.” It’s cool to be able to think about God’s truths and how those will apply to different audiences who are reading different publications. It’s cool to think of ways to get those truths out to those people. It’s cool that I get paid to do that!
  • Also, it’s cool to be in a community where people also believe in God. And where you can talk about God. Now, I admit that most people here still don’t talk about God at all. In that regards, it’s really no different than working in a regular corporate environment. But the difference is that the potential is there. For instance, I had a great conversation today about God with my boss—I was telling her about how he allowed my job back in Cincinnati to be replaced and how in doing so, answered every single prayer I had about leaving. We had a great conversation about that. Which is yet another blessing.
  • Oh yeah, and did I mention I get free books? So far I’ve only nabbed a couple, and haven’t started reading them yet, but I’m looking so forward to it! The other perk is that I get to research all our upcoming books, which means I get a headstart on deciding which ones I really want to read and get a sneak peek at their content before anyone else!

 

Some of the things I’m not too thrilled about:

  • My computer keyboard is going to give me carpal tunnel, I know it. I’ve asked to get it fixed (because it won’t sit level, but always leans forward) to no avail.
  • No window. This is probably the hardest part of my job. Not seeing the blue skies or the sunshine is going to be a tough one for me. So far, I’ve been trying to get out of the office as much as possible on clear days, but I know that come winter, it’s going to get gloomy. I started looking into sunlight light bulbs and hope I can find a cheap alternative that way…
  • Also, my office can get really cold. The day that I was wearing two sweaters and a blanket was the day I said, enough is enough! I toted in a space heater the next morning, and haven’t looked back since. (And I secretly love when people come in here and say, “Boy, it’s toasty!” That’s the way I like it!)
  • My lunchbreak is only 30 minutes long, which is only enough time to eat. What about everything else there is to do on a lunch break?!. I used to love being able to go and have some intense reading times or journaling or even just cruising to the mall or lunch breaks with friends. I suppose I can still do that occasionally, but it’s standard fare around here to be 30 minutes.
  • My office is tucked away in a corner of the building and so it’s just me and my fellow publicist coworkers. It’s nice because it’s quiet, but it’s hard because it makes it harder for me to reach out and socialize/meet others who work in the building. Fortunately, God has been taking care of that and has allowed me to hang out with some of the other girls here and I’ve started getting plugged in with them, which is so sweet for them to include me. So far I’ve been invited to a movie night and then to a craft night at different girls’ houses. Needless to say, it’s not “home” yet, but I know that it will be before too long!
