Well I’m pretty pumped. How’s that for a change of pace? Yes, I’m breathing a sigh of relief too. Let’s hope things stay sunny like this for quite some time…

So what has caused everything to start looking up? A few things.

S-l-o-w d-o-w-n
Monday afternoon, I met one of the guys from church for lunch to talk about the idea of discipleship and how to nudge it in my different small groups. Besides the fact that he’s super smart and inspiring and full of advice and insight and spewing knowledge, it was nice to have that real-life challenge. That person that is holding me accountable to what I’m doing in other people’s lives and in my own and with my own perspective.
Like, he was telling me about the need to just focus on doing one thing at a time. When you accomplish one thing, then God will give you more. But don’t rush anymore. God is very one-step-at-a-time, vs. our society which is EVERYTHING ALL RIGHT NOW!!!! It’s challenged me to be content with what I have now and make the most of it, rather than try to accelerate everything and play hopscotch through it, leaping to the finish line. That—slowing down and taking my time in the here and now—isn’t something that comes easy to me. So that’s been a pacifying force/idea.

Drink up!
Yesterday we Starbucks-ed it with the lovelies, which was, fittingly, quite lovely! I know consumerism is currently seen as the devil (particularly with that new documentary, “What Would Jesus Buy?”), but I have to say that there are things like Starbucks that I think are worth the investment. Because it’s not the drink itself, but instead the time to chill with friends and spend hours hanging out, without having to fret “I don’t know, what do you want to do?” You just sit. And be. And my friends are the grounding force in my life. Period. End of story.

Girl talk
Also, last night I got to chat with my DEAR old friend, Kristin. Who, for the past year or so, I have probably only talked to once every few months. But I’ve already talked to her 3 times in the past week. And it’s glorious! She is so able to pump up my spirits, whether it’s quoting her new book (some kind of How to Survive a Break-Up book) or telling me about all the crazy scenarios she gets herself into. And of course I spill my guts and she spills hers and then we mop them up together. I think that kind of give-and-take is what’s so cathartic. She’s going through a break-up now, too, although admittedly, hers is much more devastating than mine; they were together for over 2 years and she moved across the country for him.

In the spirit
And today, I spent my lunch break doing some good, old-fashioned Christmas shopping, which makes me feel better to check more names off the list. And to come across some really funny or really fitting presents. I’d say I’m about 1/3 of the way through. But that’s a good, solid start—one I can stand on and feel less stressed about.

Making headway
Along with the whole idea of taking what you have now and not rushing through it and just going one step at a time with it, is the whole Paul sitch, which seems to be settling into a softer routine. and it’s nice to ease into that, whatever may come of it…

